The mysterious side of Cheung Chau Island

As you know, Cheung Chau Island is one of the famous tourist attractions in Hong Kong. When people mention about Cheung Chau Island, what kinds of things do they usually associate with? Normally, they may think of the Pak Tai Temple, the Kwan Kung Pavilion, the Cheung Po Tsai Cave, or those rock carvings, or even the Tung Wan and Kwun Yam Wan beaches. The above mentioned answers are only approximately correct, since the characteristic of Cheung Chau in most people`s heart is more than that.

 

People rarely talk about this characteristic of Cheung Chau, because they think it is a taboo of the Island. What I am going to do is to uncover the mysterious veil and lead you into another side of the island – the phantom hearsays. Do you know there are phantoms haunting around Cheung Chau Island for years? The night time of the island is filled with horror and fear. Now, let me bring you to the dark side of this little place.

I grew up in Cheung Chau and am familiar with many forbidden things there, including some haunted houses and secret histories. There are four famous haunted houses located in the remote mountain, all of them are vacant and dilapidated. The most famous and terrible haunted house is called “Hong-Mei”(紅梅). Nobody, including the Cheung Chau residents dare to get near those houses in the night. Apart from haunted houses, the “Bela Vista Villa”(東堤小築), a rental holiday resort ,is the main focus of those haunted places. From 1989 to 2002, twelve suicide cases took place inside the villa in total, a spate of suicide cases made the media dub the island as a “Death Island”.

Four years ago, I decided to make an exploration of those haunted places with two of my friends. First of all, we went to one of the haunted houses- “Hong-Mei”. It was a house owned by a wealthy family. It was believed that all the members of the family died unfortunately at a plane accident. Therefore, the house has been empty for many years .No one has ever come back ever after the accident. When we first arrived at the door side of the house. A spine-chilling feeling filled our bodies, but I still walked into the middle of house regardless of the dreadful feeling. My friends dared not to go inside with me, I was the only one there. I still remember it was about evening time, which made the house even darker and more mysterious.

When I reached the middle of the house, I saw a door which was protected and locked by many bulky iron chains. I tried the peek inside from a small hole on the door. It was completely dark inside the door, but then a strong terrifying feeling rushed into my heart and I knew immediately something was wrong and I had to leave right away. Then, I ran at my fastest speed to the door. The night when I was back to my home, I had a high fever. Don’t know whether I had made “them “mad? Nonetheless, to me, it is unquestionably a very exciting and unique experience.

After all, you can treat this as entertainment, the stories are all hearsays. Believe it, or not? 

word count: 558

Timothy TO YIU TIM
1045 7148

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment